Thanks a latte

Every day on my way to work I visit the Starbucks on El Cajon Blvd and 67th Street. Yesterday was no exception, although what happened kinda was. When I pulled up to the window, the gal exclaimed “Peggy, what are you …!” Her eyes grew large and round and she stammered “you’re not Peggy.” I thought the whole thing hilarious. She was embarrassed because she was about to take “Peggy” to task for not coming inside and visiting. She comp’d my latte, and wished me a lovely day. I heard her laughing as I drove off. I’m glad she found the situation as amusing as did I.

This morning there was a very long lineup of cars at the drive through. Ah, no worries! I skimmed through my Facebook timeline and read the headlines while I waited for my turn to first order, and then pick up my latte at the window. Yet another surprise found me! The barista said “it’s already taken care of.” Huh?

“What?” Quick on the up-take, aren’t I?

“Someone ahead of you paid for your latte.”

Boy, did I feel like I’d just won the lottery. I savored the coffee on my drive to work, sipping in between bouts of grinning like a loon.

Other coffee themed posts:

Leave a Reply

