Life imitating art

My son and I have fun and interesting conversations whenever we’re in a car together. Sometimes the topic might seem mundane, but the content is far from. Take last night for example. I asked about his day, and it started off like any other conversation.

“We tossed a football around during P.E. today, just playing catch. This one guy grabbed the ball outta my hands a couple of times. It made me kinda mad.”

Okay, that’s interesting. My “momdar” lit up. I wonder where this is heading. He continued:

“So the last time the guy tried to grab it out of my hands I said with a totally straight face ‘I went to Jr. Law. I could sue you for that.’ The guy backed off and left me alone.”

Wait, there’s more.law

One of my son’s buddies sidled up next to him and asked “did you really go to Jr. Law?”

“No,” my son shook his head, laughing.

We busted up together, retelling and reliving the story until we arrived at our destination.

“Where’d you come up with “jr law?” I asked.

“From Psych, the TV show.”

Leave a Reply

