One year later

It’s been a year since I received that fateful phone call, heralding the separation between my company and me. My grandma used to tell me that whenever a door closes another opens. But does it follow that one is ready to face a closed door or, for that matter, an open door? Maybe not, but life doesn’t necessarily happen on our preferred time tables.

Change1I lost a job, and with it I lost friends and co-workers, my very identity, self-esteem, and self-worth. That’s a lot to lose in one fell swoop, big losses to grieve over. While I quickly found a new job, getting acclimated to my new situation, learning about my new co-workers, and making new friends has taken time. I’m still working on rebuilding a new and improved me, which is not at all strange, as I am a believer of continued self improvement. Even so, I am proud of how far I’ve come.

This past year has been a time of profound change, yet I didn’t face my challenges alone. I have found truth to the Buddhist proverb “When the student is ready the teacher will appear.” I am grateful to the teachers who have guided me along my recent journey. Without them, I would surly be lost.

Leave a Reply

