10 things I know to be true

Last night, my oldest daughter insisted that I watch a TED talk. As I’m usually the one who insists that she watch this kind of thing with me, I thought who is this person and whatOneWing have they done with my daughter? Turns out that she watched this particular talk in her English class. A teacher lit a fire under her, and I saw in my daughter the same passion the speaker of this TED talk embodies. My daughter was so moved by this talk, by the class project to make and share the list featured within, that she gave me a homework assignment.

“Mom, you should share this TED talk at your work and have them share their lists.” Her enthusiasm radiated from her in waves. “It will give your friends at work an opportunity to connect with each other, and you’ll learn something about them.”

I try and parent by example. I say that doing your homework is important, and now I have an opportunity to show how important homework is. If you have the time and inclination, I invite you to join me in watching this 18 minute TED talk https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0snNB1yS3IE, and then sharing your list.

My list of 10 things I know to be true:

  1. Soren Kierkegaard said that “Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards.” Knowing how true this is for me, gets me through life’s rough spots.
  2. “You never know how strong you are, until being strong is your only choice.” ~ Bob Marley Ain’t that the truth!
  3. I share my stories, add my experiences to the collective narrative via blogging and participating in forums, because I know that someone, somewhere needs to hear what I have to say.
  4. Parenting is the hardest and my most rewarding life experience.
  5. There are multiple sides to every story. Question information and research the source. Find out who benefits from studies, reports, news, and ads. Be media savvy.
  6. Take time to nurture yourself. Treat yourself how you want others to treat you.
  7. I may be challenged with learning disabilities, but I’m not stupid – nor is anyone else who learns differently than standard or popular methods used to teach.
  8. Sensory memories are powerful, spend time creating them. Listening to music, eating foods, smelling fragrances from long ago, will catapult me to that time, and fill my mind with related images.
  9. People who advocate healthy lifestyles are right. All sorts of funky things will happen to us when we don’t take care of ourselves.
  10. I can’t help everyone, but I can support others to help themselves.
1 thought on “10 things I know to be true”

  1. I know this is an old post, but I came across it again, today, and felt like sharing my own “10 Things I Know to be True” list.

    1. When it rains, it pours.
    2. The other shoe always drops. Always.
    3. They don’t look it, but birds can be cuddly and definitely understand a joke.
    4. I will always cry at the water tower scene in “The Fighting Sullivans.” Always.
    5. Watching creamer swirl through coffee like fog brings me a feeling of peace I don’t think I’ll ever be able to articulate.
    6. If you’re grouchy, you’re probably hungry.
    7. Life is too long to be so serious about everything.
    8. Laughter is the best medicine.
    9. A second opinion should always be sought for medical diagnoses…including dental.
    10. It’s really important to “find” magic every now and again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

