Hand check

Last night my oldest daughter went to her school’s homecoming dance. She regaled me with tales about guys who “grabbed my hips and started grinding against me.” She decided to employ her power of body autonomy.

school2First, she spoke her displeasure, telling them that she didn’t dance that way, and then she showed her displeasure at their actions. I believe she mentioned that she walked away from one boy, slapped one, and did the grab-squeeze-twist move on another. My daughter is not only a character (she’s charming and funny), she has strength of character.

I wonder what would have happened if the boys had practiced consent. You know, asking if she wanted to dance with them instead of just grabbing her and assuming that she would gladly be the object of their desire.

Leave a Reply

