Variation on a theme of Poblano Mole

Mole_IbarraI got it stuck in my mind and couldn’t shake it free. Chocolate sauce. Not just any chocolate sauce, It had to be a specific kind of chocolate whipped into a special kind of sauce that involved chilis. What does one do with this sauce once it’s prepared? Spoon it over chicken, of course!

I surfed the interwebs for recipes. I figured I could find a standard recipe on the Ibarra website. No such luck. However, I found four recipes I thought were interesting, so I combined them, morphing them into the one I figured would come out similar to what I had envisioned.

Mole_PanMost of the recipes called for using dried chilis, and I wanted to use fresh. I wanted to focus on mild chilis so my kids wouldn’t be put off by the heat.

Mole_Rectangle

I am pretty pleased with how it came out, and

I will definitely try this recipe again, modifying it a bit based on what I learned today.

Mole_Square

 

 

Kat’s Chicken Mole

3-5 lbs chicken Smoke for about an hour
5 Anaheim chilis and 6 pasilla chilis, Roast over flame, remove seeds and stems, chop and set aside


1-3 tablespoons olive oil, heat in large, heavy saucepan over medium-high heat
1 large onion, chopped, add onions and sauté until golden brown, about 18 minutes


Add the following, sauté until nuts and garlic begin to color, about 2 minutes
6 cloves garlic, chopped
1½  teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon ground cumin
2 teaspoons coriander seeds
½ cup slivered almonds, heaping
One ½ -inch cinnamon stick
2 cloves
12 black peppercorns


Reduce heat to medium and add chiles. Stir until they begin to soften, about 2 minutes


3-5 cups Chicken broth, gradually whisk in and simmer until hot


1 disk Mexican chocolate, chopped, add to pan and stir until dissolved.
Let simmer for 20 minutes


Working in small batches, transfer sauce mixture to blender and puree until smooth; pour into crock pot. Season sauce to taste with salt and pepper.


Coarsely shred chicken and add to crock pot; stir to coat. Simmer for about 20-30 minutes.

Garnish

  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Chopped fresh cilantro
  • Sesame Seeds

Can be made 3 days ahead. Rewarm over low heat before serving.

4 thoughts on “Variation on a theme of Poblano Mole”

Leave a Reply

